The New Seven Wonders of the World

In the period of more than 125 years from the starting of the 19th century, the creation of some of the world’s most excellent adventures of engineering were identified. These are now popularly known as great wonders of the world explaining so much about human creativity and the determination of the human spirit as they originate out of technological effort.

Ancient Seven Wonders:

The starting for the idea of Seven Wonders of the World occurred earlier while Herodotus (484 Bc – 425 Bc) and Callimachus (305 Bc – 240 Bc). According to their analysis, Seven Wonders of the World included the Great Pyramid of Giza, Hanging Gardens of Babylon, and sculpture of Zeus at Olympia, Temple of Artemis at Ephesus, Mausoleum of Maussollos at Halicarnassus, Colossus of Rhodes and Lighthouse of Alexandria. Among them, only the Great Pyramid of Giza still exists. The other six were ruined by earthquake, fire, or other causes. They were evolved from discrete antique Greek lists.

Moreover in the middle age some lists for ‘Seven Wonders of the World’ had been created, but modern-medieval historians did not originate those lists, so they are not genuine or credible. In the contemporary age wonders of the world had been organized into discrete categories namely contemporary Wonders, Natural Wonders, Underwater Wonders and traveler travel Wonders, which were again sub-divided into man-made travel wonders and natural travel-wonders. Then, the Wonders of the World were chosen According to the research and suggestions of scholars and historians.

New Seven Wonders of world:

The New 7 Wonders campaign was originated in 2000 by Swiss film producer, author and aviator Bernard Weber to pick the seven new wonders of the world through the global voting campaign. His foundation said it would donate 50 percent of net income from the scheme to global good causes for resumption and preservation of monuments. The organizers had said that the competition is not planned to replace the antique Seven Wonders, but rather to care for other historical landmarks and enhance global cultural inheritance awareness.

In the year 2001 a Swiss Corporation, New Open World Corporation started the process of choosing New Seven Wonders of the World. Ultimately on January 1, 2006 after studying and analyzing some criteria it announced 21 finalists from nearly 200 nominations from around the world. One among them, the Great Pyramids of Giza in Egypt, an exclusive primary Wonder of the antique World to survive, was designated as an honorary (celebratory) wonder. From the remaining 20, seven sites were superior by worldwide vote, through Internet and phone polling. Finally, on July 7, 2007 (7/07/07, a pretty extra day) seven new wonders of the world were declared in a grand ceremony in Lisbon.

The final poll produced this list of the world’s top human-built wonders The Great Wall of China, Petra in Jordan, Brazil’s sculpture of Christ the Redeemer, Peru’s Machu Picchu, Mexico’s Chichen Itza pyramid, The Colosseum in Rome, India’s Taj Mahal. Online voting and Sms system were used for the first time to go for New Seven Wonders of the World. Organizers said more than 90 million votes were casted for 21 sites.

But the new wonders campaign was not recognized universally. Unesco (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization) announced a statement saying it has “no link whatsoever” to the vote.


Comments Off on The New Seven Wonders of the World

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.